Home Agriculture Dutch Seedsman Wins $250,000 World Food Prize

Dutch Seedsman Wins $250,000 World Food Prize

by newshubmag

Simon N. Groot of the Netherlands has been announced as the 2019 World Food Prize Laureate by the World Food Prize Foundation.

The announcement was made yesterday at a ceremony presided over by Secretary of State, Mike Pompeo and was made public by the President of the World Food Prize Foundation, Ambassador Kenneth M. Quinn.

According to the Foundation, Mr. Groot is deserving of the award for his transformative role in empowering millions of smallholder farmers in more than 60 countries to earn greater incomes through enhanced vegetable production, benefitting hundreds of millions of consumers.

The $250,000 prize honors particularly, his achievements as the founder and leader of East-West Seed. His initiative over the past four decades has developed a dynamic, smallholder-centric tropical vegetable seed industry, starting in Southeast Asia and spreading through Asia, Africa and Latin America. Today, East-West Seed serves over 20 million smallholder farmers in more than 60 tropical countries.

“Like Dr. Norman Borlaug before him, Simon N. Groot has dedicated his life to improving the livelihoods of millions around the world,” said Amb. Quinn.

“The awarding of the World Food Prize to a vegetable seedsman is reason for excitement and gratitude,” Groot said. “But the ultimate recognition is for the millions of smallholder farmers that stepped up farming from a way of living to building a business. Small scale vegetable farming is a great way to grow rural income and employment and improve nutrition at the same time”.

Mr. Groot will receive the World Food Prize at a ceremony that will be held in the Iowa State Capitol building in Des Moines, Iowa, on the evening of October 17, 2019.

The World Food Prize is the foremost international award recognizing the achievements of individuals who have advanced human development by improving the quality, quantity or availability of food in the world.

The Prize was founded in 1986 by Dr. Norman E. Borlaug, recipient of the 1970 Nobel Peace Prize. Since then, the World Food Prize has honored 49 outstanding individuals who have made vital contributions throughout the world.

You may also like

Leave a Comment